What is the HIPAA Law

What are the HIPAA Rules?

Each patient’s healthcare information is confidential. It is especially important to secure and maintain patient health information because it frequently contains financial and family medical history.

This is the rationale behind the introduction of the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA).

In this article we will tell you about HIPAA rules so continue reading.

What are the 5 Main Rules of HIPAA?

1 Privacy Rule

Individuals’ PHI and medical data are protected by the Privacy Rule, which places restrictions on the kinds of uses and disclosures that can and cannot be done without the consent of the patient.

The HIPAA Privacy Standard: What Is It?

The HIPAA Privacy Rule and the HIPAA Privacy Standard both relate to the same legislation. Protecting Personal Health Information is the emphasis of a specific HIPAA Law criterion (PHI).

It set federal guidelines for the exchange and storage of PHI by covered entities, healthcare clearinghouses, and commercial partners. It created guidelines to safeguard patient data used for medical services.

2. Security Rule

The standards, techniques, and processes linked to the protection of electronic PHI during storage, accessibility, and transfer are defined and regulated by the security regulation. There are three different security protection levels.

The Administrative safeguards deal with appointing a HIPAA security compliance team; the Technical safeguards are concerned with the encryption and authentication techniques used to control data access; and the Physical safeguards are concerned with the protection of any electronic systems, data, or equipment inside your facility or organisation.

This guideline applies to the risk analysis and risk management processes for hardware, software, and transmission.

What is the HIPAA Law

3. Transactions Rule

The transactions and code sets used in HIPAA transactions, including ICD-9, ICD-10, HCPCS, CPT-3, CPT-4, and NDC codes, are covered by this rule. For medical records and PHI to be secure, accurate, and safe, these codes must be used properly.

4. Enforcement Rule

The consequences for any infractions by business partners or covered entities are handled by the HIPAA enforcement guidelines.

5. Identifiers Rule

For a covered entity that employs HIPAA financial and administrative transactions, distinct identities are used by HIPAA. A National Provider Identifier (NPI) number is required by HIPAA so that healthcare providers can be identified in administrative transactions.

For covered entities that use HIPAA-regulated administrative and financial transactions, HIPAA has three distinct identities.

These identifiers are the Standard Unique Employer Identifier (SUEI), which identifies an employer entity in HIPAA transactions and is regarded as the same as the National Provider Identifier (NPI), a 10-digit number used for covered healthcare providers in every HIPAA administrative and financial transaction; National Health Plan Identifier (NHI), an identifier used to identify health plans and payers under the Center for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS); and National Health Plan Identifier ( (EIN).